Theatre Futures Menu

Sergei Tcherkasski wins prestigious Stanislavsky Prize


Advisory Board member Professor Sergei Tcherkasski ( Russian State Institute of Performing Arts, St Petersburg) who is also an editor of our journal, Stanislavski Studies, has been awarded the prestitious Stanislavsky Prize 2016/17 in the category of Theatre Studies and Theatrical Criticism.


The following announcement comes from the Colta/ru website:

The laureates of the Stanislavsky Prize

© International Foundation Stanislavsky

On November 7 at a press conference in Moscow, the jury of the Stanislavsky International Prize announced the winners of the 22nd season.

As reported by the TASS , this year the judges of the award were the directors Sergei Zhenovach and Alexei Borodin, the theatrical Alexei Bartoshevich, the actors Oleg Tabakov and Valery Barinov, the vice-president of the KS International Foundation. Stanislavsky Zeynab Seid-Zade.

Laureates of the Stanislavsky Award of the 2016-2017 season:

  • “For outstanding contribution to the development of the world musical theater” – art director and general director of the Mariinsky Theater Valery Gergiev;
  • “For his contribution to the development of theatrical work in Russia” – the director of the Yevgeny Vakhtangov Theater, Cyril Krok;
  • “Theater Pedagogy” – Professor of the Moscow Art Theater School Marina Brusnikina and Artistic Director of the Theater “Workshop” Grigory Kozlov;
  • “For contribution to the development of Russian theater art” – actress Alla Demidova and artistic director of the Kamalovsky Theater Farid Bikchentaev;
  • “Theatrical studies and theater criticism” – director and teacher Sergei Cherkassky;
  • “Mastery of the actor” – actress of the Alexandrinsky Theater Elena Nemzer;
  • “Mastery of the director” – Yevgeny Ibragimov, director of the Khakass puppet theater “Skazka” ;
  • “For contribution to the development of the world theater” – director Ivo van Hove(Netherlands);
  • “For outstanding achievements in the world of acting” – actors Jude Lawand Anthony Sher (Great Britain);
  • “Perspective” – ​​actors Maxim Blinovand Vyacheslav Kovalev ;
  • “For his contribution to the art of scenography” – the set designer Tatyana Selvinskaya.

The Stanislavsky International Award was established in 1994 by the same name foundation and has since been awarded annually for outstanding contributions to the development of theatrical art. According to the rules of the award, its nominees are not announced in advance, but immediately announced the list of winners, which at its final meeting determines the jury.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes